Skip to content
April 2, 2012 / thirdiphoto

To freelance or NOT to freelance, that is the question…

I have been working since I was 15 years old. In college I worked multiple jobs at a time. I’ve attempted to list all the places I’ve worked…but as the years go on… it’s not quite so easy to remember those “summer” jobs.

From the last count; I have had 16 jobs in the “creative” world and 13 get-me-by jobs in high school and throughout college to help pay bills. Since I paid my own way through college, I had to work, there was no choice and this required multiple jobs in order to make ends meet.

Other than the high school and college years, I have always worked in the photography; it has always been my passion.

Unfortunately my photojournalism dreams sank/drowned/vanished with the digital world.

In 2003, many newspapers went into a hiring-freeze; then they cut-back, then closed. It’s an ever shrinking world, and photography is moving towards video. While many people LOVE YouTube and I do use it myself. It is a part of the down-fall of the newspaper. The demand for instant news information has crushed the need for many newspapers to exist. By the time the paper is delivered to your front door, the news is old.

I am however “tired” of the job and want my “career” to kick off. I am very good as a photographer…just slightly scared of taking that leap into full-time freelance. I’ve “almost” always had a secure job, minus a small stint in 2007.

I think however, I am ready to have a go at my career. I have heard from people in regards to my current situation, “maybe it’s time to ask yourself, what do you want to be when you grow up”. I am what I’m going to be; a photographer. That will never change and while my secure situation will, I now have the ability to do what I want and control my outcome.

Do I have any regrets….only one…not taking a business class as I should have in college. I’m learning on my own what works and what doesn’t. Other than that one small regret, I have none.

Leave a Reply

